Music: "Thursday" - The Weeknd

1. Lonely Star
2. Life Of The Party
3. Thursday
4. The Zone (featuring Drake)
5. The Birds Part One
6. The Birds Part Two
7. Rolling Stone
8. Gone
9. Heaven Or Las Vegas

>> Download <<

I'm patiently waiting for this mixtape to download so I can give it a proper listening to... expect some form of commentary to be added later today. The Weeknd is the truth... fck what you heard.

eta: So I've gone through this mixtape up and down, back and forth, shuffled on repeat — it's definitely a step in the right direction for Abel Tesfaye, the man behind The Weeknd. Where is first mixtape House of Balloons sounded like a champaign chronic nightcap, his newest, Thursday, sounds like an acid trip (a depressing trip, not so much a let's rage kind of trip). The emotions of his first mixtape are still very much present here, but instead of pining for the woman, he's already had her and now doesn't know what to do with her. Young Money golden boy Drake makes an appearance on the track "The Zone" (pause; this song is oh so sexy... just have to put that out there), no big surprise considering how much he hypes The Weeknd. Drake vocally jumps rope in his verse, riding the music, adding a nice bow to the narrative built. What I like most about both HoB and Thursday is that they have such precise arrangements and such a mood where each song just sort of blends. Don't misunderstand, I'm not saying all of his songs sound the same, I'm saying the feel of the album is very cohesive — making it perfect for ambient music when placed on shuffle for hours at a time. This man is really trying to establish himself before making any major industry presence it would seem — HoB already garnered a lot of positive reviews, and Thursday is sure to do the same; but still he has a third mixtape on the way, Echoes of Silence. All I can say is, download and enjoy.

No comments:

Post a Comment